Long Hair Don’t Care: How To Grow Longer Hair Using Onion Juice

About a year after no longer relaxing my hair, I noticed that I had soreness right in the center of my scalp. I would touch the spot and it would be extremely tender and the hair in that area was much shorter than the hair throughout the rest of my head. Trying to comb, brush, or finger-detangle that area of my scalp was unbearable! I initially thought I must of cut my scalp somehow, but after digging on the internet I found that scalp sensitivity right in the center is something that a lot of people deal with. I’m not sure of the science behind this, but I read that exposing the scalp to the sun can lead to damaged skin, soreness, and hair loss. Until a few years ago, I always wore my hair in some type of twisted/braided style with a part down the middle. This, of course, caused the center of my scalp to always be exposed.

After learning about what this exposure can do, I dug a bit deeper into how to take better care of my scalp with certain hairstyles and treatments and that’s when I came across onion juice!

Onions contain sulphur and lots of it. Hair, no matter the type, is made of proteins and the sulphur in onions bonds with hair proteins to make stronger strands. Onions also have anti-bacterial properties that may help with scalp infections. Since I was having soreness in the center of my scalp and onions are supposed to help, I thought why not give it a try?

I have tried this process in a number of different ways. The best way is to use a juicer and juice the onions into a glass and then apply to your scalp. The time it takes to do this process is too much for me so I don’t do this method very often. Another way is to cut up the onions and add them to a pot of boiling water. I’ve found that you need lots and lots of onions to do it this way and we all know how cutting into onion after onion can be. With this method you’ll get onion water instead of onion juice that won’t be as concentrated (less smelly though), so I only tried this way once because I thought it wasn’t worth it. The last way that I have tried and works just fine is purchasing actual onion juice. Onion juice is available in just about every grocery store and you don’t have to deal with any mess after using it. I use Reese brand Onion Juice (contains a small amount of vinegar) and I’ve found that it works wonders!

035

Onion juice reeks and if you are not careful, you will end up smelling like onions!!!

If you are going to use this method then make sure to follow the steps carefully. I’ve made the mistake of not fully washing out the onion juice in the past and could smell the scent throughout the day.

How to use:

All I do is pour a small amount of onion juice into the lid and then pour that directly onto my scalp. I do this several times until my entire scalp is coated and gently massage for more stimulation. I don’t really focus on my ends because my scalp is the problem. Afterward, I cover my hair with a plastic cap or bag and let the onion juice sit for 15-30 minutes.

 

036.jpg

I’ve stopped using regular shampoo, so to rinse out the onion juice I use Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castile Soap in Peppermint. Since I wash my hair in sections, I lather the soap onto my scalp (avoiding the ends of my hair) for a few minutes and rinse. I stay under the shower head until I can’t smell onions anymore. I add moisture to the length of my hair and ends using  Tresemmé Moisture Riche Conditioner. This conditioner comes in a large bottle and isn’t too expensive. After that I rinse with cool water and add either avocado oil or grapeseed oil to my hair. By that time the smell of onions is completely gone.

I do this 2 times a week.

My sentiments on onion juice:

Onion juice has worked for me. I can’t speak for anyone else that may have tried it or any scientific data, but since starting to use onion juice the soreness in the center of my head is gone. My scalp feels amazing and I have noticed hair growth since I started this process. I will continue to use onion juice to nourish my hair because I feel that my hair/scalp are healthier and it’s inexpensive.

This isn’t something for women with naturally kinky hair either, as BeautyKLove has literally grown near floor-length hair using onion juice.

 

Downsides:

Like I said onions stink, but I’ve gotten used to the smell and it doesn’t bother me like it used to. Also, if you want to see results you have to keep doing this. I’ve been using onion juice for almost 2 years, so this isn’t something that will happen overnight.

 

Leave a Reply

